zu-odjjra0w-annie-spratt

Two weeks out of the hospital and I continue to get stronger everyday.

This week I have more energy and was able to do things I enjoy like bake, visit Savers (I need more stretchy pants), and I walked around some stores like Target and Safeway with and without a cart for support. Yesterday I was able to put a load of clothes in the washing machine, and prepare my own meal.

I started doing some chair yoga.  The repetitions of contracting muscles and deep breathing has helped me work towards the goal of standing straight while walking and breathing well. It’s healing.

Still a little slow while walking and getting up the stairs but the more I walk and move, the stronger I get the following day. My abdominal area is still healing and a little sore. My DR wants to set up an ultrasound in three months to make sure the cyst is fully resolved.

Many people have suggested to dig deep into this time. I’m learning how to live slow with more peace. How to live with a heart wide open, without fear or worry, and to not sweat the small stuff.

Sometimes people hurt us and we can stay mad or hurt for years, carrying that around like baggage without even knowing it. Gossip, strife, anger, jealousy, competitiveness, being judgmental or overly critical ruins relationships faster than anything, and it’s junk.

In my thinking, if you have the choice to treat someone any way you want, why would you choose junk?

Life is so precious and love beats it all. Not to mention for those of us who are disciples of Christ, love is a command and the number one thing that is evident of the Holy Spirit living in us.

This time has shown me the depth of my husbands commitment to me. It’s given me a great appreciation for my  friends who are so generous, and so kind, and so loving. And in the face of extreme adversity had my back. My family who came together to help both and Andrew and I, and made sure I have everything I need for optimal recovery. Their generosity is unmatched. I can’t put a price on people like that.

My mom has been here nearly 10 days to stay with me as my caregiver while Andrew went back to work. She has helped and encouraged me to get back to normal daily activities. She reminds me of the progress I’ve made daily and reminds me not to worry about tomorrow, but to focus on today.

Even though this was hard, coming out of it, I see my life and it’s so much brighter. It’s fuller, and it’s freer. For that I am grateful. I hope to keep this perspective for a long time.

Leave a Reply

